ReInventing Your Life

Live & Love Your Life!

My Secret to Power Napping? Barbie

Leave a comment

So I came across a great share this morning on everything you need to know about napping.  My last blog was focused on the connection on weight and sleep, so I have to add napping as a perfect way to begin to fit more sleep into your life.

Among my friends and family, I’m a famous power napper. I can nap anywhere: a doctor’s waiting room, sitting in my car, on a bench in a mall (in public places I always nap wearing sunglasses – in my mind I feel like I’m being less obvious) – I’ve even napped while getting my teeth cleaned at the dentist.

I couldn’t always nap. In fact, when my daughter was an infant and I was desperate for sleep, I would try to nap while she napped, but it never worked. But one day when she was about 3 years old, and I was forcing myself to play Barbie’s with her (OK, so I just wasn’t into Barbie’s – but I was into being with Alex), I suddenly felt so tired, so I said, “Alex, mommy is going to lay down on the floor for a minute and close her eyes – my Barbie is going to take a nap.” And I did. For about 20 minutes, I could feel myself dreaming, yet aware of everything in the room. It was if I dipped down into a well and then came right back up. I woke up feeling refreshed. And I’ve been power napping ever since.

I invite you to play with it. When you feel like a nap would really help, try slipping away, even if it’s to your car.  Set the timer on your phone. Close your eyes and see what happens. You might not fall asleep the first time, or the second, but eventually, you just might find yourself napping. The worst that will happen is you’ll have a relaxing 20 minute time out.

Are you a nanno, micro or power napper?

What You Need to Know About Napping

Author: vineyardhealthyliving

I have over 25 years of experience, including practicing life coach, certified personal fitness trainer, sales & business builder, hotel front office manager, & technology recruiter. I have devoted a lifetime to overcoming personal & professional obstacles, fears, limiting beliefs & economic down-times, & have successfully built several businesses: partnering in an IT placement firm, & running a personal fitness consulting firm. I know what challenges is. And know that each one of us already possesses all of the ingredients one needs to have a healthy & fulfilling life.

Leave a Reply

